[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Unexpected Assisted Living 'Technologies' - Carers UK Forum

Unexpected Assisted Living 'Technologies'

Share your ideas about the practical side of caring.
So i'm interested in things that we could consider an 'assistive technology' that people would not automatically think of. I have some experience with technology companies and see things that are of limited value constantly being pushed as the next hot thing.

I went around to see my elderly parents for mothers day and realised that the most useful 'assistive technology' to me right now could actually be an LED lightbulb. My mother has fallen off a (thankfully) small step ladder recently trying to change a bulb because she is used to buying old school incandescent lightbulbs that blow every six months. On top of this she HATES CFL bulbs because they take ages to warm up and the light makes here feel low because they are pretty dim which has meant she is disengaged with experimenting with the newer LED lights (she just views them as the same as CFL bulbs).

LEDs offer some clear benefits to me as a part time/casual informal carer and concerned son

1. She isn't going to spend a fortune on her electricity bills (i found she has been proudly hoarding 150w incandescent bulbs)

2. These bulbs have a LONG life (25,000 hours +) which means no more trips up and down the ladders. Last time she had a fall and fracture it was precisely due to changing a bulb. I have offered to do this for her any time but she doesn't want to cause me any trouble (obviously i dont mind here). If the bulb wont fail for years it reduces this situation from happening.