Can anyone help, recipes with low fat, and little or no salt

Share your ideas about the practical side of caring.
Hello Members

I wonder if anyone can help!

I am looking for recipes with little fat, sugar and salt, preferably stews, hotpots, home made soup and any recipes that anyone would be kind enough to share.

My Husband and I have cared for our Son for 26 years and he has schizophrenia. Sadly almost 5 weeks ago my Husband had a heart attack and has recently had a triple heart bypass. Although our diet has been low in fats, sugar and salt and none of us overweight, I am looking for healty tasty recipes.

I have been told to add peppers, garlic, chillies etc to certain foods but unsure as to how much to add and to what. I am an old fashioned cook in as much as we enjoy all the good old recipes.

I would be most grateful for any tips and suggestions.

Regards
Google Heart Foundation recipes. I've just looked and there are a variety available. My husband died suddenly from a heart attack, although he too did all the "right" things.
Hi

Have a look at the British Heart Foundation web site and sign up for their free bimonthly magazine Heart Matters which has suitable recipes in it. Think there are lots on the web site as well ps loads of interesting free leaflets or downloads.
over the years I have gradually cut down on the amount of salt I use in cooking until now I hardly use any at all and don't notice the difference !

Obvious things to do are to check food labels for fat, salt and sugar content and buy 'reduced' options (baked beans, cheese, yoghurts, skimmed milk etc). You could also try Lo-Salt instead of 'normal' salt in cooking and Canderel (or similar) instead of sugar (although personally I don't like the 'aftertaste' of artificial sweeteners).