Newbie - Just need to talk

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
I am new to this so please accept apologies if I am doing this wrong - I just need to talk and they say talking to strangers help. Don't get me wrong I have friends and family but I can't seem to tell them how I feel without them thinking I am being selfish or a drama queen.

Let me tell you a bit about myself first. I am 62 years old and I reduced my working hours several years ago to look after mum but soon found out that working and caring was quite stressful so eventually gave up work to care for her full time last year - she is disabled (hip replacements) and 88 years of age and quite cantankerous. Yes it is hard work but that doesnt bother me.

Now to the reason I am here. 5/6 weeks ago mum had her normal blood tests - at 8.30pm on a Friday night the doctor called. That in itself scared me as he has never done that. He told me that mums Bilirubin levels were extremely high this could be gall stones or Liver - want to admit her immediately for scan and further tests. He also said that it is possible lab had made mistake but wanted to be sure. Suffice to say I was terrified. I had no idea what he was saying as all was medical terms.

I told him that mum looked fine and was eating normally actually at the time he had called she was eating Apple Pie and was shouting at one of the characters on Corrie..

The evening prior to bloods she had been sick would that result in the levels being high? - he said it was possible.
I knew that if an ambulance turned up at the door for mum it would frighten her so after further discussions with my sister we told GP to wait ...he agreed would be best option and "quality of life" OMG that made it worse ...
Does she have symptons? symptons of what I asked? - Jaundice - no she is not yellow - has she stopped eating? - no she has not - Is she in pain? - no she is not - we decided not to stress her out and he would take more bloods on the Monday.