[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
New to this forum - Carers UK Forum

New to this forum

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
Hi everyone

Although I am new to Carers UK I am not new to caring.
I am 59 and have been looking after my wife for around 2 yrs now.She suffers from COPD and this causes her to struggle with her breathing and getting about.
All was going well until June this year when I was admitted to hospital and had a stent fitted. I had a heart bypass 5 yrs ago. While I was in hospital I was informed by the company I worked for that I was being made redundant at the end of August 2011. So as you can imagine things seemed to be falling apart for me.
When I was discharged from hospital I was advised not to return to work as the on going stress from being made redundant would not be good for my heart.So I used the time to research what benefits I was entitled to claim.With the help of Age UK (who I would recommend anyone to contact for help) I finally got all my benefits sorted and I felt good about our future.
I finally finished work at the end of August as planned and was looking forward to looking after my wife and having a little more time for my hobby.
Little did I realize how much I would miss my work mates and am sad to say that in a short time we seem to have lost contact. Maybe it's my fault for not trying harder to keep in contact.
After a short while of being at home I also noticed that it seems my wife has started to rely on me more and more,to the point where she will do very little for herself.
I feel ashamed to say that I am starting to feel used and alone.I am getting short tempered and feel down all the time as I don't seem to have anyone to talk to anymore.