[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
New to the forum - Carers UK Forum

New to the forum

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
I have been caring for my 87 year old mother for almost six years now, without any help. She is now in the late stages of dementia and has just spent 11 weeks in a later life mental health facility after being sectioned under the Mental Health Act last November. I pushed for her to be discharged home to my care again, but unfortunately, she has lost a lot of her mobility and can no longer go downstairs. As a result she is now bedridden because the local authority have refused to supply a stair lift. We have carers in three times a day for personal care, washing, changing pads etc, however, I am beginning to regret my decision to bring her home as the local authority have told me I can only have a sitting service for two hours per week to do the weekly shop. I asked if I could have an extra two hours per week for other appointments such as dentist, hairdressers, doctors etc, but this has been refused. As my only income is my carers allowance and a small amount of income support, I cannot afford to pay for a private sitter @£17.95 per hour. My only relative is my brother who lives 20 miles away and I have no good neighbours or friends to call on. I am now imprisoned in the house seven days a week, except for my weekly visit to the supermarket (woohoo!). Has anyone else had this experience? I am wondering if this is illegal and an infringement of civil liberties. I have calculated that over six years I have saved the taxpayer around £600,000 pounds in care fees, yet they won't pay out an extra £36 a week to give me a bit of fresh air and freedom.