[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
new to caring and feel guilty - Carers UK Forum

new to caring and feel guilty

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
I am new to caring. Both my parents have cancer and other illnesses. I also have a young family and am a single mum. If I spend to much time with my parents I feel guilty on my children and when im with my children I feel guilty about my parents. Will this feeling ever go away.
Hi Michele and welcome,

It's hard being a carer, you sometimes feel like you can't do right for doing wrong and your best attempts are never good enough. It's particularly hard in the beginning when you are trying to adjust.
It's kind of a ticklist here, but very important...who is supporting you?
Have you had a carers assessment from your local social services?..they are duty bound by law to do this.
Are your parents linked in with relevant services regarding their illnesses? (for example Macmillan)
Have you spoken to citizens advice/carers uk about benefits entitlements?
What sort of attitude do your parents have towards you? Are they 'demanding' and expect you to drop everytihng to rush to them and sort things out for them? Or do they recognise that your first responsibility is to your children? That is, after all, the primary duty of parents - to be parents (and your own parents should recognise that is YOUR primary duty).