[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
New here - caring for 20 yr old daughter with depression - Carers UK Forum

New here - caring for 20 yr old daughter with depression

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
Hi, I'm totally new to this...

Joined the forum to try and find other people going through something similar, to share experiences and thoughts. Feeling like no one understands what my family's life looks like atm, especially as on the surface it probably looks fairly normal. But, as I'm sure many will recognise, every plan I make seems to get undone, my other children feel frustrated that their sister gets so much of my time, and there's not really anyone to talk to about it.

I'd love to hear from others facing similar challenges (not nec with depression, more the juggling act of caring with other commitments).

Allie, just a quick 'hi'. Having any child with health issues of any kind is dreadful, and depression is such an intractable and tricky thing to cope with. Do you feel there is anything 'in particular' that set off her depression, has it set in rapidly, or over years, and is she on any medication, does she recognise her situation etc?

I know there are other parents here with children with health issues, so you will not be 'alone' here at all. I hope it provides both support and help for you.

Kind regards, Jenny