[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
New here and need lots of advice if you have time? -Carers UK Forum

New here and need lots of advice if you have time?

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
Okay, this might be a long one. I've joined this forum after being up all night driving myself demented looking for advice. I've been caring for my Nanny for four years now, she has Parkinson's and she's severely depressed. We thought she'd had a stroke about six months ago but a month ago I found her collapsed again, same symptoms, and this time we found out it was an overdose, and likely the suspected stroke was an overdose also. She was admitted to hospital and after a week transferred to a nursing home for assessment. She's due home again in the next few days. For the last four years I've been more worried about the mental health problems than the physical, she has really bad moodswings, she'll hit, kick and throw things at me, call me horrible names and tell lies about me to family and professionals. The social worker and care agency completely circumvent me and go to my uncle for all decisions despite me being her live in carer and next of kin. Any problems I have with the care agency are ignored or passed straight on to the person i've complained about. While my nanny's been in the care home she's been forced to wear incontinence pads, which she has never needed, and now feels she can't cope without them. It all really boils down to this; what is she possibly entitled to (pads, commode etc), and how can i get people to take me seriously? I don't know whether it's my age or whatever my nanny's told them in one of her rages, but nobody will listen to me. Also, i have a weekly arrangement i have to uphold and until r