new/ entitlement

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
Hi I am new to site, I am currently looking after my mum, which will change to over 35 hours, I currently work full time as well and I am thinking of leaving my job to care for my mum, or working/part time for the £110 working allowance when claiming carer (£62.50) allowance. if I leave my job will I be entitled to income support as well?
I know I won't receive full housing benefit as I live with my non dependant daughter who works, my main questions are can I get income support whilst claiming carers allowance? is it ok to leave my job and do this? as I am leaving job voluntary or shall I continue to work for the £110, part time, and claim the £62.50. i am just worried that i wont be able to pay my rent and priority bills, direct debits as well as food, travel to mums etc your advice would be great
kind regards
caroline
Hiya,
I've no advice as such, but I gave up work to look after my mum, and its very isolating, so give it careful thought.
I get carers allowance and income support, which makes up my money to around 110 pounds per week. Its a pittance - not enough coming in to keep up with bills, etc.
I dont know if working part time would leave you with a bit more money to play with: I seem to remember that it worked out roughly the same?
Hopefully someone will be able to give you more advice.
Best wishes.
M
Hi thank you for your reply, I wonder would I be entitled to income support if I leave my job voluntary? I need to call them I guess, maybe speak to citizen advice, trouble is I'm not getting the time, by time I finish work I have to drive over an hour to mums then it's evening, so frustrating, I just need to know what to do & what I'm entitled to.
Hi, just another thought. What is your mum's financial circumstances? Do check out whether:

(a) she is entitled to any care being provided by SS etc