[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
need help with autistic partner - Carers UK Forum

need help with autistic partner

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
hello

my partner has low functioning autism, hes 21 and im 22, ive never dealt with anyone that i know of that has this so im at a bit of a loss.

we've been together 2 and a half years and although we live together im still learning new things everyday.

but my question is how do i deal with his mood swings because sometimes he can be the nicest person then all of a sudden he changes and is vile, and downright intolerable.

i know that its not his fault so i deal with it, but i was just wondering if anyone could give me some advice on how to deal with it if there is any tips or things i could try.

thanks
claire
Hi Claire and welcome, I've moved you to New to the Forum so that more members will see you and be able to offer advice and friendship Image
Hi Clair and welcome, my son has the same problem, one of many, I usually find when he has mood swings I usually try not to argue with him and generally just agree with him, even when what he might be saying that is wrong, try not to shout or lose your temper it really does not help as the only person who gets upset will be you. I know this might not work for everyone but after 21 years of trying everything, this works for me, I let him go off to another room and cool off, I try not to ask him any questions and just be nice to him, although it is sometimes through gritted teeth lol! I know in the end he cannot help it and as my son has a bad memory 10 minutes later all is forgotten.

Hopefully someone else will be along shortly, to let you know what works for them to give you other options. Sandra.