[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
My mother won't help herself get better. - Carers UK Forum

My mother won't help herself get better.

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
So I am new to this, and am unsure what to do in my situation so would like some advice!

My mother has had arthritis for about 4 years now, and last September her health took a nasty turn. She wasn't eating or drinking and she kept having falls and was unable to move at all. We soon had to get a family member in the house 24/7 to make sure she was okay. We asked for her to be admitted to hospital, which she was, however they discovered she had had a stroke. A week later she forced the doctors to discharge her so she could come home. Since this she has been on medication so her arthritis doesn't affect her anymore.

However, the stroke has affected a bit of her memory and she has had a personality change. My mother has always been a big drinker.. an alcoholic perhaps, and she only ever focusses on when she is able to get to the pub etc.

I live at home with my mother and father and younger sister (the older siblings have moved out), and since she became ill I have been my mothers main carer.

Background info out of the way! (haha sorry its a long story but it has to be explained).

So now we are at the point in which social care have pulled out because my mother kept lying to them saying she could do everything independently.. which she can't. The doctors don't really know what is going on. She doesn't eat anything because she says she 'doesn't fancy it' and she sleeps all the time. She refuses to wash or changer clothes or keep up her personal hygiene.