Introduction to my dilema

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
Hi, my name is Amy. I am an 18 year old sixth former student in my final year of studies. I wouldn't particularly count myself as a carer but for whom I am with I do care for him, I am there to help during his episodes and be his biggest support system. My partner is also 18 years old and he suffers from Bipolar, psychosis and Seasonal affective disorder. I am still learning as I go how to help him but due to his last episode I have found myself in need of my own support and the need to gain more knowledge on his situation is increasing as he is getting more frequent phycosis attacks.
Before any one offers the "doctor" card as I've been told numerous times, we have been but he is also a working man. He can function with society and fights off his psychotic thoughts daily. He has been to doctors and gets helput and the is college also, however he does not want to be classed as Insane with his conditions due to his previews time in a psych-ward. He fears that due to his want to work. It's college, people and his work that keeps his attached to reality.
I am writing on his forum in hopes of getting support and supporting you guys too. Him and I have been together for almost six months and I've known him since childhood but I still have much to learn and I am very much willing to learn how to deal and help him as much I can.
Thank you
Hi Amy
Welcome to the forum and sorry you have had no replies, I nearly relplied when I first read your post but thought my advice would sound too harsh as I'm now a former carer so perhaps a bit chastened by it all.
You sound a very kind person but you are so young to comit to a lifetime of caring for a partner you have only recently got together with. Mental health problems can be some of the hardest to care for and you do have choices, you have your life before you so think carefully about the path you want for yourself.