[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
I'm New to CarersUk - Carers UK Forum

I'm New to CarersUk

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
I fostered a baby with cerebral palsy - James lived for 13 years, and died of a condition completely unrelated to his disability - my family loved him totally, and as his carer, and, to him and me, his Mum, I was devastated.
In my second marriage ( a really bad marriage and I am now a widow) I brought up my husband's children from his first marriage. My step son has Aspergers syndrome and step daughter has ADHD. They are both now adult, and I still support my stepson emotionally on many levels, although he has a successful career, and a good relationship with his girl friend.

Over 6 years ago I met the love of my life. A wonderful man. He moved 200 miles to live with me, and we have been happy until this year. He was hosptialised in January, and diagnosed with Crohns Disease, but more worryingly is showing rapidly advancing symptoms of an as yet un diagnosed dementia. His behaviours are very peculiar and each day brings something new. it makes me very sad. He is 70.

I am 68 years old, and work full time in my own little business which I love. But I am terrified of the future. He is far away from his own family - we are not married, we do not have much money, and rent our home.

How am I going me meet the challenge of becoming a carer yet again? I do not think I have the strength.