[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Hi! (Newbie). - Carers UK Forum

Hi! (Newbie).

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
Hey,

I'm Cat, I'm 23 and currently caring for my fiancé who has depression and problems with alcohol. I'm studying medicine full-time as well as working part-time. My fiancé and I have been together for about four years and we're getting married around three months from now. He's struggled with his issues pretty much the whole time we've been together and has ended up in hospital once before after intentionally taking too many painkillers. I have tried to get him to seek help a number of times with varying success. He's been prescribed medication but stopped taking it after a while, and recently went back on it but the side-effects made him stop again. I also managed to convince him to seek some sort of talking therapy as I think this would be particularly good for him and he got a referral but did not reply to the letter they sent him so he will need to get another if he wants to pursue this. I never thought of myself as a carer before, so many people on this forum have to deal with so much more than me and are doing an amazing job, you guys are so strong. But even so the emotional and physical support I have been trying to give has begun to take a toll on me over the years and is now affecting my studies, work, mental and physical health. I recently called my (incredibly supportive) sister and she suggested I look online for help for carers of people with mental health issues and I guess that's how I ended up here. I think talking to people in similar situations/people in general would be really helpful and I'm looking forward to meeting you guys :)
Cat, hi, and welcome to the forum.