[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Hi from the Republic of Ireland! - Carers UK Forum

Hi from the Republic of Ireland!

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
Hi all!

Chuck here from Galway in the Rep of Ireland. I am currently unemployed and although I have no experience of or in the caring industry, I am considering it as career option given the abundance of employment and training opportunities currently available both here and in the UK. I consider myself to be a friendly, kind and empathetic person and believe that i have the right personality for the role, I am here to chat with others and learn what I can.
Charles, it's lovely to hear someone enthusiastic about working in caring.

Before I go on, though, I'm afraid you'll hear from me, and others here, that actually this forum is for family carers, not professional carers ('care workers' as 'officially' they are!).

I have to say it's not immediately obvious from the website name that that is so, but you'll find if you start reading all the posts, all of us here are family carers in some form or other (our carees are parents/spouses/children/other relatives, occasionally friends, etc).

That said, I would suggest that if your membership here continues, then do please read all of our postings and threads, as that will immediately give you an excellent (and probably quite 'shocking' in a way!) taste of what families are up against when it comes to looking after relatives with needs. You will see that one of the 'keywords' we use is 'stress'....another is 'frustration' (usually, sigh with the NHS and Social Services, both of which are chronically underfunded for the amount of demand placed on them.)