Tell us a bit about yourself here.

Hi all, this is my first time here... I've come to you because I feel like I'm treading water and sinking fast. I don't know anyone else in my position so I have no one who understands.
My situation is this. My mother-in-law was diagnosed with small cell lung cancer at Christmas time. Her health generally is far from fantastic- she's had previous mouth cancer that was surgically removed in 2016 and since then has had 2 minor and one major stroke. Despite this, and the fact that her mobility has been poor for many years she's an absolute trooper and is due her 3rd round of chemo next week. We found out a couple if weeks ago that her mouth cancer has returned, but should be removeable under a local anaesthetic and that's scheduled for a few weeks time. Her husband was diagnosed with mixed dementia (vascular and Alzheimer's) in January this year. He had become increasingly symptomatic over the past year so it was no shock to anyone except him to receive the diagnosis. Unfortunately, as my MIL was his main carer it has become necessary to place him in residential care which has upset them and us greatly.
My husband has 2 sisters, one, S, who lives nearby, and other, W, in Essex (we're near bath). W rings her Mum every day and goes as much as she can from a distance. She has come down and stayed with her Mum for each round of chemo so far but is unable to do so next week. S is less than useful. We believe she is in a controlling relationship, so allow some leeway but she's very quick to say what she can't do when asked to help out.