Hello

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
Hi My name is Brett and I have been a carer for almost 7 years.
I am a professional carer and also look after my elderly Grandmother and Uncle.

Also a side note to user Ladybird who made me feel most unwelcomed yesterday, this is posted under forum rules, and does not state it is a forum solely for carers of family.

"Our forum is open to all carers over the age of 18, whatever your circumstances. We are a supportive community where carers can freely express themselves among people who understand the ups and downs of caring. You must be a member of Carers UK to use the forum."

I neither felt supported or was I able to freely express myself, so just as I am posting this to say hello it is also a goodbye, I am not staying where I was made to feel unwelcomed.
Brett hi - I'm pretty sure you aren't the only member here to be both a professional carer AND a personal carer to someone in your family. There's at least one other member here who has both roles. That means I'm sure you're eligible!

Please don't leave, at least for the time being. If you don't want to take part yet/again, then roam around the site, read the posts, and see if any of them 'ring a bell' with you.

I'm sure the moderators will give you the guidance and clarification necessary to work out whether you can or can't b e a member, but I think that because you look after your own grandmother and uncle, that makes it perfectly OK!

What are the particular needs of your g/m and uncle? Do they live together, or are you dashing about back and forth between them?

Kind regards, Jenny
Hi Brett and welcome to the site. I wear both hats like you but joined the site for support on the personal side. Nearly all the chat is based around caring for family and friends but occasionally I offer an opinion based on something I may have come across elsewhere. I hope you stick around. I have sent you a PM.