[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Hello - Carers UK Forum

Hello

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
I have been caring PT/FT for my elderly father since Dec 2009. When I heard he had been in hospital after a fall in 2009, and that my 70's+ YO aunt was doing the cleaning - I returned to England from Australia to take over the chores and become dad's PT carer.
This became FT in August 2010, after a bowel operation took him back to hospital. Since then, I have become cleaner, cook, shopper, wheel-chair chauffeur, secretary, & carer PLUS.
I rise at 4-30am, to make his 5am cuppa - and check on him half-hourly/am on call until he retires circa 8-9pm.
Most of the time, I am OK and happy to do this - but on occasion, I have days where I want more sleep/time out.
I currently get a 2-3 hour break once monthly, to walk into the next suburb to do banking/shopping/relax & another 2 hour break when he goes off in a car to a lunch-social at his church. I cannot get help until he becomes worse than currently - and needs help to wash/dress. (At the mo, he needs help sometimes, and not other times.) I am OK on this - knowing the alternative would be his moving into a home, which would be the end of him emotionally/mentally. I would rather 'earn my inheritance' and stick it out.
I am in contact with his doctor/the local falls team/various extras as req'd. Also, a few of my friends online are also caring for elderly rellos.
I am basically 'here' trying to find other online sources of info/contact for when things get tough again....
Hi Sandra,
Welcome to the forum, you have a lot to deal with. not much me time. Hope
this site helps you even with the isolation caring brings.
Take care
Minnie Image