Full time carer

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
64 posts
I have been caring for my elderly mother for two years now.

The first year was fine but I am increasingly stressed and fed up.

My mother is currently in hoslital after a couple of falls and a broken wrist. I am sad to say that I am dreading her coming home. Her home. I moved in to care for her (was renting so it has benefitted me too).

I have no days off and get the pathetic carers allowamce. Not even the minimum wage. How can this be legal? I am sure this cant be the first post to mention this!

I am going to have to get carers in so that I can have days off and carers in so that I can cope.

Wish I was 60 so that the house didnt have to go but I just cannot manage on my own any more.

Its a tough call being a carer isnt it?
Hi Jacqueline ... welcome to the canteen

" Caring is a choice " ... so we are told by all and sundry out there ... unfortunately , it is factually correct.

However , this is CarerLand , our gulag , and we know the real truth behind that statement !

Your caring role ... what immediately springs to mind are ... needs and carer assessments ... local LA for those , probably detailed on their web site.

Don't place too much faith in them ... virtually all LAs have cut back even beyond the bone but ... there are available to you and your caree by law.

Various external links available ... by a short head , the NHS web site :

https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/social-ca ... ssessment/

Real post code lottery out there in all aspects ... including waiting times for both.

CA ?

12 foot thick volumes of postings across the ages on that one ... that we currently know of ... some still to be rediscovered by archaeologists as I type.

IF you want the full sp , I can supply ... in volumes from a couple of " Bibles " on the subject matter posted elsewhere under different threads.

Finances ?