[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
First Posting - Carers UK Forum

First Posting

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
Hi everyone

I'm a newbie to both this forum and to caring.

I'm trying to care for my mum who suffered a broken shoulder, hip and pelvis. I've just had to buy a stair lift because she didn't want to sleep downstairs (which I can't blame her) so I'm now having to work twice as hard to try and pay for that plus the other stuff I've had to buy just to get by Image

My problem is that I currently work 2 jobs to make ends meet, have disc problems in my back and suffer depression, taking tramadol and prozac. Now I am caring for my mum on top of this.

I don't know if and how I'm going to cope doing all this, I know it won't be easy but the hospital wasn't at all helpful and pretty much wanted rid before Christmas!

Hopefully this isn't the beginning of the end like some have told me, and it will be alright, but at the moment I can't see the wood for the trees.

D
Hello Dawn, and a very warm welcome to you. I'm not surprised by how you feel. Its a lot to take on board especially when you are far from well yourself.

If your mum is currently in hospital and they are wanting her discharged soon, the hospital needs to be sure that it will be a safe and proper discharge. Its not the hospital's job to care for folk back home, but you need to have a reasonable time to make arrangements. In complex situations like this, the ward staff should have asked Social Services to help you in thinking about what arrangements need to be in place, and in helping you to access support so that you are not expected to do all the careing yourself. Have ward staff made a referral to Social Services ?