[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Carole1 - newbie here - Carers UK Forum

Carole1 - newbie here

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
hi ive only just joined this site and knowing that is here for help and advise is a great relief
im not sure what to say really just that im very upset as ive been in denial regarding my mum for a long time it wasnt until she was in hospital for afew days due to an infection and her doctor actually made comments about her suffering with demantia that i realised that she needs help so last week i rang the doctor and spoke to him about how bad she has got with her memory he has suggested having her assessed by the hospital as she just doesnt accept that she needs help and refuses to have help
i dont want her to lose her independance as she lives on her own and does most things for herself
i also feel really guilty and that im betraying her by going behind her back
im just lost at the moment
Hi Carole and welcome to the forum, we all feel this guilt sometimes, but we do it for the love we have for the person we are caring for. Take care, and i hope you get some positive news from the assesment.
Hi Carole and welcome.
We all get those guilt feeling at times. Plenty of support and advice to be found on here.

Karen x x
HI - I had to do the same with my Dad a a couple of years ago. You feel really guilty at the time , but it is the right thing to do. It took me a few weeks to even tell Mum but turned out she wanted to say to the GP, but Dad was always with her.

Relief all round as a sympathetic GP can pretend to do the tests as routine - at least his did. He never suspected, but got onto the right treatment sooner than he may have.