[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Caring for husband, wife or partner? (I’m new here) - Carers UK Forum

Caring for husband, wife or partner? (I’m new here)

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
Hi everyone, I have been caring for my husband for 14 years since he had a severe stroke at a young age ( we had been married for 12 years when it happened) . He has now had another severe stroke and things are even worse, he is very ill at present although we hope for some small,progress maybe. I would especially liketo chat with others who are caring for a husband, wife or partner - sometimes it feels as though I am the only one in this situation - although I know you are all out there somewhere .
Sam - hi and welcome.

How absolutely devastating for you both. Stroke is something we tend to associate with 'old age' but of course it can happen much younger, as you indicate.

I do hope that your husband can show some improvement in his health, even if that takes time. I know things are looking 'up' for stroke patients, but so often improvement is never 'instant'.....

My own experience is different from yours, as in my late husband was diagnosed with cancer, but in that respect I do 'get' what it is to have a spouse with a severe, life-threatening illness.

Do you have children, and if so, how are they coping in respect of their dad?
Hi Jenny, thanks for your words.

So sorry that you lost your husband after his illness.

Yes it feels like a very lonely experience for me as I feel like I’m grieving for all we have already lost and all that may continue to be lost, but I don’t ha e anyone to share that level of grief with.

Sadly we dont have children , so it’s just me feeling the worst pain as things go on.