[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Help! Carers overpayment - Payrise taken me over limit - Carers UK Forum

Help! Carers overpayment - Payrise taken me over limit

All about money
Hi all, newbie here. :)

I've been working & receiving Carers Allowance for my son for over 20 years and restricted my hours so I stayed below the earnings limit. I work in education and we had a long awaited payrise last year which has taken me over the limit but as I've been working the same hours for the last 7 years it didn't even occur to me to think this may take me over the limit. :cry: It's only by £1.90 a week but they've stopped paying Carers & say I owe a £4000 overpayment! :o :cry:

I sent off the MR but they've refused to take any notice of a clothing allowance I was claiming as an expense. :( They also don't seem to have any NI contributions and I'm sure I pay some so I need to look into that (EDIT: I don't pay NI). Is there anything else I can claim for? I don't travel for work or pay carers but I do have to take my son to Daycentre in order for me to attend work, would his Motability lease be eligible as an expense as I need this car to take him for the care I need in order to be able to work? Clutching at straws, I know but I don't have the £4000 and I'm not currently claiming Carers for them to deduct it from there ... although I am in the process of increasing my pension contributions which would hopefully make me eligible again.

Is there any point in sending off a Tribunal Notice of Appeal? :dry:

Thanks for any help or advice. :)