What is a Carer?

Share information, support and advice on all aspects of caring.
Hello, My name is Hazel Fernandes. I believe that everything in your life happens for a reason, and that everything you have ever experienced leads you up to, and prepares you for, the point at which you are today. Before I became a Carer, I led a charmed life, graduating in English and Education and pursuing a Post-graduate Law degree. I worked as a PA for 2 Consultants in a hospital and for a Trade Union for Headteachers, until fate decreed that I become a full-time Carer.

A lot of unenlightened people have no concept of what day-to-day care involves, until sadly it happens to them. Here is a job description of being a Carer
read in full here
http://www.worldmedicaltimes.org/what-is-a-carer/
Sorry, I found all this saccharine sweet and gushy, far from the truth for many.

Only personal opinion but "chosen" to be a carer, "everything in life happens for a reason" and it's all leading up to the point one starts caring? If I believed in all that, then I would be an embittered woman I'm afraid.
Caring for my daughter wasn't sweetness and light, it was a hard, relentless slog 80% of the time. Of course I love her but she was aggressive and hateful towards me, nothing like the wonderful time the author had with her mother.

As for reason, I could ask why my daughter was disabled, my granddaughter in a wheelchair, my husband's heart attack, my cancer, my daughter's cancer, the death of her twin, my son..

Reason can go hang I'm afraid. Better to live life for the moment, to deal with each day as it comes whether it's good or bad, enjoy the good times and get through the bad.
I don't believe in a divine spirit and guardian angels but I believe in the power of the human spirit with all it's faults and foibles, that's what get's me through.

If I believed in reason, I would wonder what the hell I had done wrong to deserve what had happened to this family..so I don't. Better that way. :)