[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
New Carer - No Information - Carers UK Forum

New Carer - No Information

Share information, support and advice on all aspects of caring.
For 15 months I have become sole carer to my 93 year old Mum, who could no longer cope alone in her Council sheltered housing flat and so moved in with me and my husband. I obviously notified our local council and her Doctor of her change of address and why she had to come to live with me and that I would be her carer. Mum has dementia, mobility issues and she is also deaf. Prior to this I have had no experience in looking after an elderly person so I had no clue as to who to contact for help. How did other carers find out about what was on offer to help both the carer and caree? I think that as soon as any Gov body is notified that a person is carer to someone, advice should be given immediately. The only help I have received followed a visit to the doctors when I asked for Mum to be referred to our local clinic to have her toenails cut, as I have a phobia about touching someone elses feet! Whilst there the podiatrist was asking me about Mum's care and what help I got and I said none, followed up by 'If a relative is happy to take on the job then the powers that be will let you and they can take a back seat.' I told her that I honestly thought that someone would be calling at our home to ensure that Mum was ok and that I was doing everything to the best of my ability, but she said that just doesn't happen. Anyway she must have taken pity on me because she arranged for OT to visit. They got me a small walking frame (already got 2 for her) a cushion, and a commode, which I have since replaced. 6 months down the line I phoned OT to see if t