[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
DIRECT PAYMENTS - Carers UK Forum

DIRECT PAYMENTS

Share information, support and advice on all aspects of caring.
I have little knowledge of direct payments but friend of ours has been advised to apply for direct payments she has been told her husbands direct payment can be used to pay her for the care work she is doing for him 24/7 i informed her that as far as i knew she can only be paid by his direct payments if she did not live with him iam sure you cant pay someone who lives with the disabled person any way she knows me very well and i have explained iam not 100% sure so she is getting in touch with social work team .
This got me thinking of our beloved M/P`S who can employ their wives/ husbands or even children to work for them this payment could be worth tens of thousands per year and just this weekend it was stated that a spouse working for the M.P. helps the M.P`s work rate and is in fact a benefit so why cant carers pay their family members directly to care / work for them as i have said iam not clear on direct payments so please correct me if iam wrong.
We have applied for direct payments for our son, and will use an agency for day care, but due to diabetes needs, the only way we could have respite is for one of our other children to look after the eldest. (Otherwise we will be oncall). We want to go away for our Silver Wedding Anniversary in April,and are holding out for D.P. to be allowed for our daughter, who lives at the same address. Social Services are not very happy about it(they said our daughter could act as oncall, while we are away, but she said no, and I am delighted about that)