Depression and being a carer

Share information, support and advice on all aspects of caring.
Hi all Its my first time posting a new topic so here goes. How do you cope with yourself while caring for a husband who has Picks disease? He is56 and life feels all up hill. Because of depression I need to talk and know I am loved . But we don't and I don't. I have a silent scream that won't come out yet weighs so heavy I can barely breath. I am watching him fade away and it kills me. We have been together for 36 years but now he is a stranger. I have read others comments and share their feelings and pain . We have no voice even if we get help it soon vanishes. Depression makes you feel exhausted , barely able to think yet , I know my husband depends on me. I cope by keeping my head down and slowly plodding through the days. Can anyone relate to how I feel ???
Dear Corinne, I'm afraid I can't relate totally, or even partially, really, but I can offer this if it is any help to you at all. When my husband was diagnosed with terminal cancer, there was a lot we 'could' talk about (mainly treatment options, and what activities he could still enjoy, and the kind of life we could still lead, and what and how, and how much, we should tell our young teenage son), but I was always aware of 'terrible silences' about things we 'could not' talk about.

I could never say to him 'when this is over and you are dead...', or 'how are you feeling inside about your diagnosis and prognosis'? There were whole, dreadful 'no go' areas that just stayed 'silent' in the middle.