[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Dealing with rejection - Carers UK Forum

Dealing with rejection

Share information, support and advice on all aspects of caring.
Hello
I have been caring for my uncle for 4 years and have been the only member of the family helping up until May this year.

He was diagnosed with lung cancer in January and I supported him through the process he had a couple of spells in hospital and started treatment in May but I had to go away to work for 6 months so I pursuaded one of my sisters to help out.
In August he went back to hospital but sadly the cancer had spread and there was nothing more they could do.
I was devasted and cut my contract short to be with him.
He talked about making a will and the people and charities he wanted to benefit as well as sorting his funeral arrangements,but kept putting it off saying he would do it when he had to. In the last two weeks he's detirorated rapidly but when I asked him to let the doctor see him he refused and said he just wanted to be left alone.
I was very worried about him so I called the doctor to explain what was going on and he told me that he had seen his X-ray and report from hospital and he had weeks left at most so i really should tell him so he can sort his affairs out.
I wrestled with this info for two days and spoke to my sister who had came into the picture while I was away but who had stopped going once I got back as she is working full time and with her own family to deal with and really only did it because nobody else wanted to help him, she agreed with the doctor that he needed to know.