[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Carers who get nothing! - Carers UK Forum

Carers who get nothing!

Share information, support and advice on all aspects of caring.
I was wondering if there is any carers on here who do not get any income at all Image

Let me explain

I have been caring for my partner for over 20 years she is age 43, disabled, she gets income support, SDA, DLA (low rate of care, high rate of mobility) because she is permanently disabled. She also gets Council tax credit from the local council. We have a car with a blue disabled badge (Only me drives, it's not a mobility car) We have twin girls who are now in college age 16.
I get no Carers allowance (hence I get no income) because she is on the low rate of DLA for care even though I look after her 24 hours a day, (she has lots of medical problems, is in pain a lot of the time with arthritis, has eye problems, also has weak muscles throughout her body, not sure of the medical terms., but she has lots of hospital appointments which I take her to.)

I have wanted to work at least part time for a while but I've have been told by officials in the local job centre that if I do any work at all my partners income, benefits, etc will be stopped (except the DLA), and whatever money I earn her money will be stopped pound for pound, athey have also said "dont work as you will be worse off". I consider this is discrimination against me as a carer as I wish to work but I am being prevented by unnecassary red tape and stupid income support rules it seems to me.