[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Caregivers USA - Carers UK Forum

Caregivers USA

Share information, support and advice on all aspects of caring.
I found this on a site from the USA. Somebody asked if there was any benefits for "caregivers" (carers over here). Here was the reply:

"AS a social worker, I can tell you that there isn't any program that will benefit or pay a family member for taking care of another family member. Caring for each other is the expectation especially when it is family. On the other hand, you can apply for Family Medical LEave (FMLA) through you employer (it's a Federal law) that will allow you to take time away from work and secure your job. However, it will not "pay" you if you're not working.

Obivously, you can see the problem if people decided to take time off to care for family members and wanted to bill the state or the federal government. Right?"

I was almost shocked. Image
However much we moan about the NHS and services for the disabled and carers in the UK, we have to be very grateful we don't live in the US where your bank balance is all important to the services you receive!
Hi
I have always said that i am a husband that is just doing what i should do look after my wife as my wife would look after me in the same circumstances yes it's a family responsibility nice if you can be paid if not i still have to do it i don't ask favours i just get on with it.
I don't get paid for it never have don't class myself as a carer just giving assistance where needed.