[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Depression and being a carer - Carers UK Forum

Depression and being a carer

For issues specific to caring for someone with mental ill health.
Hi all Its my first time posting a new topic so here goes. How do you cope with yourself while caring for a husband who has Picks disease? He is56 and life feels all up hill. Because of depression I need to talk and know I am loved . But we don't and I don't. I have a silent scream that won't come out yet weighs so heavy I can barely breath. I am watching him fade away and it kills me. We have been together for 36 years but now he is a stranger. I have read others comments and share their feelings and pain . We have no voice even if we get help it soon vanishes. Depression makes you feel exhausted , barely able to think yet , I know my husband depends on me. I cope by keeping my head down and slowly plodding through the days. Can anyone relate to how I feel ???
I am sorry no one has managed to reply to your post. I must say it would be very hard for anyone to relate to how us carers feel, we all have our own limits.

It is so difficult to watch your loved one suffer as this and yes depression will set in, but for you to be there for him is the greatest gift you can offer. I just hope you get support yourself. It must have taken some brave feelings to post here and your post is not wasted, people actually learn from what you express.

As a carer myself, I have suffered some depression and it is so hard to admit it, you just want the depression to go away, but I guess it shows sometimes there are no easy answers to the situation.