[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 585: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 641: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
MY WIFE AGE 83 HAS VASCULAR DEMENTIA - Carers UK Forum

MY WIFE AGE 83 HAS VASCULAR DEMENTIA

For issues specific to caring for someone with dementia.
I HAVE BEEN CARING FOR MY WIFE NOW FOR 7 YEARS...... SINCE SHE HAD TWO STROKES WHICH LEFT HER WITH DEMENTIA. I DON'T MIND THE CARING AND THE EXTRA WORK AND AM FORTUNATE IN THAT SHE ATTENDS A DAY CARE CENTRE TWO DAYS A WEEK.
SHE CANNOT DO ANYTHING FOR HERSELF, SHE IS EXTREMELY FRAGILE AND WEAK AND WITH THE PROGRESSION OF DEMENTIA SHE NOW KEEPS CALLING OUT MY NAME EVERY FEW SECONDS........ ITS THIS LATTER PROBLEM WHICH IS WEARING ME DOWN......SHE DOESN'T KNOW SHE IS DOING IT
HAS ANY READER EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM AND IF SO HAVE YOU COME UP WITH ANY IDEA HOW TO COMBAT THE STRESS IT CAUSES.
Hi Harry. I don't have experience with that, although my father did have dementia caused by strokes. Of course, he was just my father, too. The only thing I can say is that your wife is getting the best of care and somehow you have to find enough strength from that to not let the stress get to you too much. And I really can see how what you've described would be intensely stressful.

You've probably thought of this and it's probably a stupid idea, but might giving your wife an item of your clothing to hold, such as a jumper, calm her down a little?
Hi Harry,

Welcome to the forum, you've come to the right place for moral support and to pick up great hints and tips from other carers. :)