Postgraduate Researcher needing Carers Over 40

Take part in research or give your opinion in a survey.
Hello,

Are you working in addition to caring?

Are you a carer who is also currently in employment?

Are you caring for another adult?

If so, please could you assist me in an important piece of research?

I am a postgraduate researcher at the University of Nottingham and my area of interest in terms of research is the motivational factors of carers to continue employment.

The research will look at workers (both male and female, over 40 years of age) who have caring responsibilities. With a particular interest in finding out what it is about work (and its management, particularly support) that might motivate them to continue to work, even under considerable pressure.

The proposed method would either be telephone or face-to-face interviews lasting no more than 30mins. This post is to ask for carers who are willing to share their experiences, not for them to put any personal experiences publicly onto the forum if they do not wish to, as I understand it may be a sensitive issue to discuss.

If you would like to participate in this research or simply interested in more details, I would be more than happy for you to contact me.

Please feel free to leave comments - even if you do not wish to participate, I still would like to know what your opinions are about this area of research? Do you think it is worth exploring? Do you know anyone who may be interested in my research?

Thank you for reading.
To be honest I am getting a bit fed up of researchers coming on here and "using" us for their own purposes and then we never hear about the projects again, nor do we hear if our comments have been used, how they have been used and in what context. I don't really think that it is fair/ethical when we don't even know for what purposes this research will be used - will it help the DWP to force more older carers into paid work for example?

Eun
Hi Eun,