carers living in the Gwynedd area and Shropshire area.

Take part in research or give your opinion in a survey.
Hi! I'm a 3rd year student at Bangor
university,studying a joint honours degree in Health and social care
and criminology and criminal justice. As part of my degree i must
write a dissertation on a topic of my choice and i've chosen to write upon the topic of provision of care for informal carers in both the Gwynedd area and the Shropshire area.
The study intends to compare and contrast the different types of resources and help on offer to these urban and rural areas.
Therefore i would be very greaful if anyone living in these areas can write back to me to give me your opinions and views on the help that your local council give to you.
Greatly appreciated Helen
I live in Shropshire, Helen, but can you tell me what an 'informal carer' is, please? Image
Right now there is a serious shortage of "arers" in these locations. We need to put the big "C" back into aring, in my opinion, as nobody is admitting to being an "arer" .. its a stigma kind of thing.. Image
alot of people just dont think there are a carer..
thank you all for your quick replies.
Firstly sorry Frandrake for causing confusion, an informal carer is just another word for a person who is a carer . They provide upaid care for either their partner, child, parents and neighbours etc. Excalibur, Yes I suppose there is a type of stigma attached to being a carer and I suppose that some people assume that carers use there status to claim benefits!!!where clearly thiis is NOT the case. And Paul yes you're right, a lot of people don't realise that they are carers,and don't realise that the care there providing is valuable. The the 2007 Carers UK Reported that this 'informal care' is worth and estimated £87 billion per year!!!
Would you be so kind as to answer some of my questions? It would be greatly appreciated Image