My wife's anxiety.

Share your ideas about the practical side of caring.
Thank you to all those people who replied to my earlier posts!
I followed most of the advice given. I now have Social Services assisting and have regular visits from carers!
A 'problem' that I am finding difficult to deal with is my wife's constant and acute anxiety/fear!
She has become quite paranoid, thinking that there is someone or some group of people "out there!" Who are constantly watching her, awaiting the opportunity to come and harm her! She won't let me sit or stand near the window in case "they" see me!
I don't know if anyone else has experienced this behaviour? If so and you have found a way of 'dealing with it,' I'd be very grateful to have your advice please!
Thank you!
Regards
Snapper.
Hi Snapper,

does sound rather as if your wife's problems have escalated since your last post - what does her GP say ? I have very little experience with mental health issues but maybe her meds need tweaking or changing now ? I remember that you have used 'distraction' techniques in the past but presume they aren't working now ?
Could you 'play her at her own game' and tell her that the people out there are actually undercover police agents who are both protecting her from the 'real' bad guys, and have successfully infiltrated the bad guy organisation though the bad guys don't know it yet. Tell her it's essential you stand by the window so the bad guys are fooled....

Or, just say you don't believe there are any bad guys and that's that.

It's difficult - if not impossible - to know how to deal with paranoia.

My mother had paranoid schizophrenia and I grew up taking it for granted that people were following us around, spying on us through the TV set, and bugging the house. I was a teenager before I twigged this wasn't true....

I would say, though, as a layperson, that paranoia is different from anxiety.