Dementia struggles

Share your ideas about the practical side of caring.
Hello folks, I am new to this but having read several posts so far, I am so glad to have found you.

My mother has dementia, she has been gradually getting worse over the past 4 years. My two main concerns are that 1 - my father is in almost denial, saying he has perfect conversations with mum when I am not there, and 2 - sometimes mum is more lucid that others.
How do I know what she understands and what she does not? This is such a wicked illness!

Mum is mostly incontinent now, so I am fairly sure she does not really understand what is happening, however she has almost lost the ability to speak, so talks with her eyes. I cannot bear it when she cries.

Is this part of the illness?

Thank you,
Pam
Hello Pamela
So sad to read your post.
My husband is in a nursing home because of strokes and vascular dementia.Sometimes I and my family can have really lucid conversations with him. We spoke of the election, he can still explain some laws to me etc etc. Then he will confabulate, ask me if I have seen his mom( she died many years ago). I could go on and on. I personally just go along with what he is saying, ie, no I haven't seen your mom, she can't come out in this weather, at the deaf club or whatever. I call them kind lies.
So yes, sadly what you ask is part of the wicked illness. Your dad being in denial is common too.
Do you get any help? Have you been in touch with the Alzheimer's society or Admiral nurses? You made find it beneficial.
Do keep posting, as lots will be able to support you.
Hi Pamela
wecome to the forum, I am sure you will it very useful and supportive.