New gal

Tell us a bit about yourself here.
Hello, forgive me for 'lurking' which I have been doing for about a week, but I have finally registered today. I have been caring for my mum for nearly 12 years, who had a stroke, which left her paralysed down her right side with very little communication, as well as working full-time and occasionally doing things for my sisters (2) who are both registered disabled, and I have coped. However it has been getting harder to do so with a smile on my face, everytime mum has a fit (she was left with diabetes and epilepsy as a result of the stroke) I struggle and so I started looking for 'help, support & guidance'. I have been overwhelmed by the support on these pages and thought I had to get me some! I have some great friends but I find it hard to ask for help. I am quite a private person but after 11 years and 10 months of caring I have decided that I am going to have to open up and ask for help, if I am going to get through this.
My saving grace over the years has been my job, I have been in the same employment for 20 years (job description has changed over the years) and have great backing from my colleagues as well as management, so I am very lucky. I said right at the start of this caring lark! that I wasnt willing to give up my job as it was the only thing that kept me sane and I hope to be able to stick to that decision however sometimes in my lowest moments I panic and think that someome will make me give it up to care full-time.
So I have re-read this post and I think that is enough doom and gloom - as a family we have kept an incredible sense of humour going and even tonight having got home after she had had a fit this morning I still had her in hysterics asking her for some words of wisdom on how to cope, now when you consider all she can say is "yes", "no" & "dont know" it was priceless when she sat there pretending to wrack her brains!