Your life after their death,

For anyone who is bereaved or no longer providing care.
Yesterday, mum died. Yesterday, I rang my children, mum's brother, her nephews and nieces, her friends. I was strong. I'm always strong; it's not an act, it's how I am. I suspect most of you on this forum are the same. Next week, I'm at the hospital for several hours having some scans for a future op. I know life will be hectic for the next few weeks.
So, today, I did something I've never done before. I have sat in my garden all day and done absolutely nothing. I didn't read or listen to music; I just sat and reflected. Sometimes I cried, sometimes I smiled. I've looked at mum's picture and laughed at the memories. For 10 hours! I shall miss her for the rest of my life, but I won't let the miss spoil the rest of my life. Mum lost two darling husbands. She mourned them both and never forgot them, but she built herself another, different life each time. Her first husband, my dad, died 60 years ago, but he is remembered as often now as he was then. Still very much loved. We'll be like that with mum; gone, but always in our hearts. I'll miss her every day, but I'll be OK.
Good on yer Penny! I so admire your strength and the care you have shown. I hope you find the time to sit in your garden again,for however many hours you want to. Why not?! (((Hugs)))
What a great day of reflection and respect. I admire your practical way of approaching things and hope I will cope in the same strong way once I lose my Dad.
I grieved for my mum in all the wrong ways but learnt some early lessons and won't repeat the same mistakes.
Penny, I think you've got it exactly right. I think you set aside time for memory, for reflection, for honouring your mother and her life. For 'marking' the end of it, so that you can 'move on' and make the most, the very very most, of your life.