Sad, bereft, lonely

For anyone who is bereaved or no longer providing care.
Hello anyone..
I have been caring for my husband for the past eight years, in addition to keeping a full time job in the NHS. He passed away on the 30th December, and I am feeling so bereft. Not only is it the acute sadness of the man I love, whom I had been married to for 35 years, but I am no longer needed for the caring role that I had spent 24 hours a day thinking about . I can't even think about normal shopping, as every time I went it was purely around what my husband fancied, could eat or manage. I feel so desperate with the need to care and love, but don't want to sound depressed. He gave me so much love, I just feel empty. X
Hi Elizabeth, welcome to the forum. I was widowed nine years ago. It's very early days yet. You are now top priority, but I know how empty the house and your life feels right now. Have you ever heard of "Way Up". It's a group online for Widows. Join and read some of the other posts, lots of people are going through the same as you, and it will help you hugely.
Dear Elizabeth. I was widowed seven years ago, at this time of year. No one can understand the nightmare of widowhood, except those of us to whom it has happened.

Numbness is a good descriptoin of that utter emptiness that possesses us now. Disbelief, anger, denial, despair - all are to be expected.

Take each day as it comes. You will be prostrate with grief and bewilderment, and yet when someone dies there is a mountain of paperwork. Every time I had to deal with a piece of post or paperwork with my husband's name on it, I just collapsed and howled in grief and disbelief.

Yet the paperwork helped give me 'something' to cling to, somethign to do, measuring each trackless day.

Waking in the morning was a particular hell, as there is a second where you don't remember what has happened, then it hits you like a sledgehammer sweeping in and knocking the breath out of your body.