Employment after caring?

For anyone who is bereaved or no longer providing care.
Up until recently I had been a full time carer all my adult life, this past decade for my father who had late stage vascular dementia.

I now I find myself trying to find work with a yawning chasm on my CV. Even though I have an OU degree and an OU Diploma in Computing, both are now 18 years old, and so unlikely to impress an employer.

I was wondering if anyone else is or has been in this position, and if so, how things worked out?

How did you solve the empty CV problem? I'm even stuck on what to put down as interests, it's not like I've had any time for a life of my own.

Did you find that public bodies were more likely to give you a chance at employment or was it necessary to take part time temporary shop work?

David
Perhaps I shouldn't say this to you, but a while back there was a discussion on this forum about a government initiative (or at least, a statement of desire on their part!) to recruit former family carers, like you, to 'swap across' to caring for other people's elderly parents.....to solve that devilish problem of 'what to do about looking after all the old people in the UK'.....(!!!!!!!!!)

I can remember being pretty incandescent about the idea - obviously no one in the government has ever had to give up their own life for their parents, or they would have kept their privileged stupid mouths shut!!!!

That said, quite a few people thought it was a good idea, and, after all, this time around they would actually get paid! And since it would be a job, they would have control, and freedom - things we don't get while we are family carers.

Wishing you all the best - perhaps one 'half way house' might be to do some 'professional careworking' and simultaneously refresh your OU qualifications to transition to non-carework??