Breavement

For anyone who is bereaved or no longer providing care.
Mum passed away on the 23rd May in hospital and I was with her, she was only 69. I thought she would be in for a couple weeks with a urinary tract infection like previous times before and would be out after the antibiotics kicked in, however that was not to be the case. Her funeral was on the 8th June (she had to have a post mortem, and along with bank holidays, Wednesday was the first day in which we could get her buried), anyway, I know that grief takes on many forms but I haven't really cried, I've cleared out her wardrobe and social services have been and collected her bed, hoist and wheelchair and I didn't get upset. Her wheelchair accessible car goes back on the 17th June.
I'm a qualified nurse and I am finding this all very strange. I've looked after many an ill patient during their last days of life and I looked after my dad when he died at home too. I go back to work next Monday, (I'm a deputy care home manager and I don't get paid when I am off work - I got 2 days paid bereavement leave, the joys of working in the private sector).
I am just waiting for it to hit me, but I'm just numb.
Kirsty, there is no timetable for grief. The tears will come when you are ready to weep. At the moment I would say you are in shock, and have gone into coping mode.

An unexpected, unanticipated death is always dreadful, but think maybe of it this way - if your mum had thought 'I'm going into hospital to die' she might have been very very fearful. HOPEFULLY the way it happened was not as traumatic as she didn't know it was going to happen. the irony is that an expected death can be worse for the family than for the person.

The tears will come, and so will the hideous pain, but as I say, they will come in their own time.

For now, go with your feelings, even if, for now, it seems to be more 'lack of feelings'.

With kindest wishes at a time of trauma, Jenny.
Hello Kirsty