Advice needed please?

For information and discussion about benefits
Hi all I'm new to this and I'm just looking for some advice
I've been diagnosed with postnatal depression and I'm struggling to leave the house or be around people would it be possible for my ex partner to become my carer to help me and our children. Im really struggling been on my own and I'm ashamed of myself for having a mental illness and I really don't know what to do. I just know the support from my ex could possibly help me get better
Yes that may be a good solution
Hello Lucy
Please please do not feel ashamed! You have nothing to feel ashamed of. PND is common. It's a hormonal chemical imbalance and not your fault.
If you are happy for your ex to be a carer for the time being, then why not? Is he happy to take on the role?
Others will be along with good advice about practicalities and finance.
You have made a very good start by acknowledging your depression.
Absolutely! PND is SO much better understood and appreciated, and it WILL pass, I promise you. My SIL (long time ago now) got hit with it completely out of the blue - she'd had a brilliant pregnancy, then a really grim labour, and then tipped right over in SUCH bad PND that the doctor told my brother bluntly that unless he arranged some kind of care for their baby, the baby would have to be taken into care as my SIL was just not coping at all.

Luckily, my bro drove his wife and baby over to his MIL who 'took over' as carer to them both.

I can't quite remember when my SIL finally 'surfaced' but she went on to have another child a few years later and no PND then at all. It really is very common, and very variable.

I think having your ex as your carer is a really good idea! It will mean that your baby has their dad to 'bond' with and be 'devoted to' (etc), while you (slowly) get your self togethter and 'surface' from the drowning water that is submerging you right now.

You WILL be OK, in time, and you WILL find joy in your child.